Day 1

Posted: June 9, 2010 in Trev in LA Boot Camp

Was up at 3am to catch the ol 5am flight from Durham to Philly. Had a quick 30 min layover and was in LA before I knew it. I arrived to Sushi Central by 11:30. Phillip met me outside and brought me to the kitchen to show me the set up. He handed me a hat and apron and said: “watch everything I do.” 5 min later the place was packed with a lunch crowd and “watch what I do” turned to “roll up some cali rolls quick!.” It was like moving from T-Ball to the major leagues. The first roll was a little shaky but after that I started to get the hang of things and picked up on some of the tricks of the trade.

After the crowd died down we made some rolls for us to eat. I will say it was the best sushi that I’ve ever had, by far. The rice, seaweed, fish, cucumbers and sauce were all so fresh and so damn good. Sushi Central definitely beats out all NC competition.

At 6 the Lakers game was on and the place came alive. I felt like I was at a sports bar but for sushi. People would call in takeout orders and rush in between quarters to pick them up. It was great watching the game with LA fans rather than my typical North East  group of friends. After the game I started to write up the things that I had learned and observed throughout the day, 20 pages later my hand was about to fall off so I took a break to talk with Phillip about how things will work in Sabi. We discussed everything, menus, fishes, how long fish stays in a freezer, freezer temperature, what to do with dirty towels, what tastes people notice when they eat sushi, etc…I felt both overwhelmed and excited. If this was day 1 where am I going to be in two weeks. It’s hard to say but one thing is for sure, Sabi Sushi has one of the most knowledgeable, passionate and energetic Sushi Chef’s in the nation on our side and there ain’t nothing wrong with that.

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    sounds soo amazing!!! I can’t wait till y’all get this going.

    Do we get to name our own rolls? 🙂

Leave a Reply

