It’s not gambling if you know you’re going to win

Posted: July 1, 2010 in Hall of Fame Posts

99% (ok, 100%) of my dreams are about girls or money. Last night was a two-for-one special, I dreamt about Vegas.

Now I love to gamble, but this dream wasn’t fun. I was standing at the Roulette table, watching the little white marble ball fly around the wheel.  In my hand was a $25,000 chip. Much higher than my normal stakes, but since Duke just transferred our 25k prize winnings from the Startup Challenge, the number worked its way into my dream.

I scanned the table looking at my options. Red or Black. Even or Odd. Row or Column.  Maybe I should bet on a specific number for the homerun 36-1 winning payout…I was sweating the decision big time…Whether it’s a $25,000 chip, or what to eat for breakfast, decisions like this with so many options and possibilities are hard to make. I’m sure many of you are like me; you love having choices but hate choosing.

It’s engrained in us, because having backup plans ensures our safety.  Options equal survival.

I’m supposed to be in med school, Dan on Wall St, and Trev in the classroom, but sometimes one great idea can force your hand. Force you to choose. And take you on a completely different path. On paper, our path looks tough:

We’re homeless, jobless, broke, and trying to convince the world that three 22 year olds are onto the next big thing. I’ve never felt so free in my life. We’ve done all our planning, all our research, all the risk analysis and due diligence. It’s time to go for it.

I may be naïve, but I believe that the key to it all is that we’re not chasing money; we’re chasing excellence. Money is just a great way of keeping score.

So lets see, no home, no experience, no investment, no savings, and yet we couldn’t be less worried. Why? Because why spend our time worrying about all of our problems, when all we need is to find the solutions?

So we find them.

We find homes through our family and friends.

We find experience training with Phillip in L.A.

We find investment by building an undeniably strong business foundation, so that any investor would be stupid to miss out.

We find savings by resisting (for now) throwing a block-party with our $30,000 in prize money from the Duke Startup Challenge.

The way I see it, I’m getting into business with my two best friends. We’re working on an idea we truly believe in. We’re collaborating with the nation’s brightest in architecture, real estate, finance and design. Our confidence grows daily, and will soon be unshakeable.

The way I see it, we’re playing with house money, so we’re bound to succeed…I mean, what else are we going to do? Fail?  I wouldn’t bet on it.

SVP

Comments
  1. Phil Jackson says:

    Well said guys. inspirational even. good luck

Leave a Reply

