Welcome To Noodles & Company

Posted: October 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

A lot of people have been asking me what we actually do out here when we work. For those of you that have seen The Social Network…our lives are kind of like that.*

For those of you that haven’t seen the movie, you should definitely go and see it. Not only was it inspirational, but the story itself was fascinating – especially for all the entrepreneurs out there.

But seriously…unlike Mark Zuckerberg, the three of us (and Isabelle) cannot work on Sabi 24/7 without going insane. So, in an attempt to make some money while taking a break from Sabi, I decided to apply for a part-time job at a fast-casual restaurant.

Several applications and several weeks later, I finally heard back from one of the various chains  – Noodles & Company. I set up an interview for the next day, and prepared to give the pitch of a lifetime: convincing one of the busiest Noodles locations in the state to give me a job with a collective 2 weeks of restaurant experience under my belt.

I’m not quite sure how it happened, but miraculously I got the job and just got off my first shift a few hours ago. Let’s just say that my day went a little differently than I had planned:

Sporting my Noodles & Co. t-shirt and hat, I had no clue what to expect when I left for work today.

When I got to Noodles I found out that I’d be on bus duty. Not the most glamorous job, but I had bussed some tables at Sushi Central so I didn’t think it would be too bad. Little did I know that bus duty also came with dish washing responsibilities…

Now at first glance this doesn’t seem too bad – how hard can washing a few dishes be? Remember when I said this restaurant was one of Colorado’s busiest Noodles? That translates to around 600 customers per day…don’t even get me started about how many dirty dishes 600 people leave behind!

“Everyone has to do it once.” An employee told me as I fought with some dried Macaroni & Cheese and a sponge…

“How else could we possibly let you start your career at Noodles?”

For the next five hours I put in my time and washed dishes: soaked the dirty plates in hot water while I ran out to see if any tables needed busing; then ran back into the kitchen to scrub the plates before loading them in the dishwasher. While the dishes were washing I’d run back out to check on the tables, but then had to hurry back in since the dishwasher only took one minute to run! (When you have so many customers you need a fast dishwasher – seriously, this thing was crazy!) Reaching into the 175 degree washer, I then burnt my hand taking out the dishes (no time to let them cool!) before repeating this process.

While this job was extremely difficult/unpleasant, I cannot explain how much I learned in the process. While I pray that today was my one and only time washing dishes at Noodles, I am glad I got to experience first-hand what 600 customers/day feels like. This and other experiences at Noodles will prove invaluable once we open Sabi.

Until then, I’m hoping to get off of dish duty for at least a week at home…

-DNC

*Except the part about being billionaires, suing each other, and pretty much most other aspects of the movie…

Comments
  1. Chuck Gross says:

    Hey when you quit.. Can I please get your work shirts from noodles? I work6 ddays a week there and only have two shirts..

Leave a Reply

