Fortune Cookies

Posted: November 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m a big quotes guy. A good quotation can be more powerful and effective than hours of explanation. A picture may be worth a thousand words, but a quote’s gotta be worth at least like 200. In fact, I’m going to use quotes to explain the rest of this paragraph.
“See, quotes are usually generic enough that if you squint hard enough, you’ll find a way to apply it to your current life situation. In times of trouble, they will provide guidance and inspiration. And when things are good, they’ll be a verbal pat on the back, confirming that what you’d doing, is right the right thing to do.”

I can even quote the word quote and make it seem official!

(see how effective that was? I might change my name to “Shaan” to give myself a little more emphasis)

If quotes were good, imagine how I feel about horoscopes. In fact, I will now take a 2 minute internet break to lookup my horoscope:

taurus:

“Your pie-in-the-sky ideas will have people buzzing today — buzzing about how twisted your brain is, but at least they’re buzzing.” – Daily AstroSlam!

Whoa! Just when I was ready to write a blog post making fun of silly horoscopes…they totally redeem themselves! Look at that prediction! Pie-in-the-sky ideas? Like building the next premier fast-casual restaurant chain in the world without any money or experience to my name? Twisted brain? Absolutely! People buzzing? Can you say 10,000 blog hits…Buzz!

It’s funny that just reading my Horoscope (from Daily AstroSlam! no less) made me feel empowered. Silly as it might be, I genuinely believe that it applies to my life. So to all of my New Years Resolution making, Diet Coke drinking, knocking-on-wood believers. I’m with you.

Maybe its fake. Maybe we look silly. Maybe we get too excited for a fortune cookie. Maybe 9 times out of 10 it’s just a folded up cookie with a scrap of paper inside. But if you’re like me, then you’ll find a way to believe. And maybe that’s enough.

So I’ll leave you with a quote, from a man named Henry Ford:

“He who thinks he can, and he who thinks he can’t, are both right”

give it a try today. take something silly. something fake. believe that the words can apply to you.

Believe that today, is your day.

-Shaan

Comments
  1. linds says:

    here’s a quote AND a picture — have fun wrapping your head around that one.

    (it’s the 2nd picture of the 3 in the post)

    http://researchtattoos.blogspot.com/2010/11/wrists.html

Leave a Reply

