Soft Drinks & Rice Krispies

Posted: December 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

Now I bet most of you are wondering what the title of this blog post has to do with anything…I’ll get to that soon, I promise.

But before I do, I wanted to give a quick update about what I have been up to for the past month – I’ve come a long way from washing dishes! To sum up my job at Noodles, my front-of-the-house role comprised of:

1) Salad/Serve: Prepping salads and bringing the food out to customers
2) Garnish: Putting the cheese/veggies on the noodles/sandwiches
3) Noodles Ambassador: Working the Point of Sale System (cash register)

Side Note: For those of you that still haven’t been to a Noodles & Co. you have to check them out – my recommendations are either (a) Pesto Cavatappi, or if you like spicy food,  (b) the Indonesian Peanut Sauté. If you don’t want pasta, go for the Spicy Chicken Caesar Sandwich  –  Shaan can attest to my skills making spicy caesar dressing…

Anyway, of these positions my favorite would have to be Noodles Ambassador – interacting with customers all day is definitely the most fun part of the job…and where the title of the blog comes in.

While you can only do so much behind the register, over the past month and a half I have found two areas where I have some creative freedom: soft drinks & rice krispies. For those of you that have read Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, I’m talking about the concept of “Free!”.

The best part of my job is randomly giving people drinks and/or rice krispy treats “on the house”. While in theory this seems pretty trivial, you have no idea how happy people get when I occasionally tell them they can have something for free – especially small kids that are clearly eyeing the snacks by the register.

While I’d probably get fired if anyone counted how much I actually gave away, I have to imagine Noodles will make up the cost of these items ten times over in return business. I believe it was Danny Meyer (I know, I’m referencing a lot of Daniels in this blog) that wrote even the smallest gestures of going above and beyond for the customer will differentiate your restaurant over another.

If I can make someone’s day by giving them something worth less than $1, I personally think that it’s totally worth it. A few days ago a mom tried to give me a $5 tip after giving her son a free rice krispy on his birthday  – while I couldn’t accept the tip, I think it shows how much more people value the random gesture over the actual item itself.

In an effort to stop rambling about free rice krispies, I will leave the story at that – I am currently brainstorming some ideas for Sabi that take advantage of pleasant surprises for customers. Let me know if you think of anything – there’s a free rice krispy in it for you…

-DNC

Edit: Since the writing of this blog I have been fired from Noodles & Co.

(kidding)

But this week was sadly my last. Working at Noodles & Co. has been an amazing experience, and I want to take a moment to thank the entire 29th Street Noodles crew for an awesome month and a half!

Comments
  1. Sheryl says:

    How about free sushi? 😉

  2. […] 126. Dan got a job at Noodles & Company. […]

Leave a Reply

