A little help…

Posted: December 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m going to keep this one short and sweet because the bottom line is; I just need a little bit of help.

I’ve been working on the website designs for a couple of weeks now…Going into it I had no idea what I was doing, no idea about how to use Photoshop, no idea about the “rules” of design, no idea that there were specific fonts that are “websafe.” The only thing I really knew was I wanted to make something awesome that could show the personality of Sabi on the internet, so I got right to it…

I installed Photoshop on my 5 year old Dell. Now I officially have 1gb of free space remaining and my laptop now runs in sloth mode. It’s pretty fun when you can make a change on the design, or even just type a word, go grab something to drink, maybe even eat a banana, comeback and the he word is just appearing on the screen…My patience level is phenomenal right now.

I then spent a day at Barnes and Noble reading every web design book they had.

Equipment, check…Inspiration, check.

After a week of working I had a pretty good handle on Photoshop and started banging out designs. With Dan and Shaan in my corner I attacked the designs and sometimes got so into it I would stay up all night working. I had the design fever. I knew things were getting bad when I started dreaming of website designs…It was seriously all that I could think about. But, in the end, this led to some pretty sweet options.

Now to the “help” part… We’ve settled on a Home page layout that we really like but there are 3 different versions. I’ll post them at the bottom so you guys can have a look. If there is anyway you could give me a little feedback it would be amazing. It would even be helpful if you simply just comment about which one you like best (To comment just go back up to the top-right of the post and click that little number that is in the circle and you’re good to go!)

Thanks,

Trev

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Well, which one should it be??

Comments
  1. Justin says:

    I’d say the second one. Sick job man.

  2. Neeta Puri says:

    I like the number 1…Great Job Trev!

  3. Aunt Patti says:

    Number One. Must be why it is posted first!

  4. Baum says:

    #1 draws your attention. #3 coloring too bland.

  5. Stacy says:

    My vote is definitely for #1…I just noticed that one is the only one that says “Store” instead of “Style”…was that intentional?

  6. Maya says:

    Number 1!

  7. Lori Carlson says:

    Number 1 has nice contrast…

  8. Jean says:

    #1 has good eye appeal

  9. Aum says:

    Definitely #1!

  10. Hal says:

    Number 3 for sure. No. 1 and 2 looks weird with the word “Team” overlapping the black line. Maybe if you fixed that up number 1 would work best.

  11. sabisushi says:

    #1 is getting a lot of love!

    That’s the one that we are leaning towards too! We really like how the bamboo goes with the fresh and healthy aspect of sushi, while the left side of the design is the fun and more bold area…fresh, healthy, fun and bold…sounds a lot like Sabi to me!

    We really appreciate all of the input. I’m hard at work making some more pages, in a couple of days I’ll show you some of that action!

    Thanks again everyone,

    Trev

  12. Joey says:

    Dude either 1 or 2. BOTH ARE AWESOME.

  13. sydney schavietello says:

    option one…the color contrast makes it interesting…but it should say style not store.

  14. Beth Pine says:

    I like option number 1. Easy on the eyes and the color says sushi to me.

  15. Rundeep says:

    Number 1 all the way.

  16. Parul says:

    love love love #1!

  17. Rachel (lemur) says:

    I guess I’m weird, but I’d say #2, except replace “style” with “store.” #2 is the cleanest, and although I like the boldness of the first, it sort of looks like a hardwood floor (which doesn’t make you think mmm sushi). Good luck guys!

Leave a Reply

