Pete Carroll

Posted: January 8, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

After watching the Seahawks ridiculous playoff upset today I spent a while reading about their head-coach Pete Carroll’s story, I’ve always been a fan but I wanted to learn more. He is by far one of the most inspirational dudes I’ve ever seen. He has his own style, his own swag, and for some reason it makes so much sense to me. Let me explain why…

After being fired from the Patriots Coach Carroll talked about the turning point in his coaching career, reading a book by John Wooden:

“Reading Wooden, I realized: If I’m gonna be a competitor, if I’m ever going to do great things, I’m going to have to carry a message that’s strong and clear and nobody’s going to miss the point ever about what I’m all about.”

That message that Carroll decided to build his coaching philosophy around was Win Forever.  For Carroll the foundation of this notion was partially inspired by Grateful Dead member Jerry Garcia:

“Jerry Garcia said that he didn’t want his band to be the best ones doing something. He wanted them to be the only ones doing it. To be all by yourself out there doing something that nobody else can touch — that’s the thought that guides me, that guides this program: We’re going to do things better than it’s ever been done before in everything we do, and we’re going to compete our ass off. And we’re gonna see how far that takes us.”

Striving to Win Forever and do something better than it’s been done before places unbelievable importance on every detail of what it is you are trying to do. Each day becomes the most important day ever. Each practice, meeting, idea, project is absolutely critical. When doing it better than it’s ever been done becomes your mindset there is no time to waste, there is no off switch.There is no time to relax. There is no time to be content with where you are at because you know that there is always a way to get better. And, you know that, if you do waste time, feel content and lose the drive, someone will catch up to you…

About two weeks ago Shaan and I were up working on the website and we ended up talking until 6am about life and Sabi and about how it was time to turn things up a notch or two. We realized that, although we were working hard and doing things right as far as the business goes, there were still a number of ways to get better. We decided to recommit ourselves to attacking everything that we do in both work and life. It was one of those conversations where you can just feel that there is something big happening.
Since this talk things have been electric. The ideas are bouncing off the walls. Each day has become the most important day. There is a new attention to detail and sense of urgency in everything we do. The three of us all hold each other accountable to get up before the sunrise to start the day. To eat right. To work harder than we’ve ever worked. To be more creative. To be smarter than we’ve ever been. It’s absolutely awesome.
Since this has happened I have been thinking about how exactly to put it into words to share with you guys. Then I just so happened to stumble onto those articles that I was talking about above. I seriously got goose bumps reading the things that Coach Carroll was saying, they were exactly the things we discussed that night. The one thing that I connected with the most was the notion of doing it better than it’s ever been done. That phrase feels so powerful to me. So true. I honestly believe that it is because this is exactly what we are trying to do. And, I’m not afraid to say it: We are going to do it better than it’s ever been done.
-Trev
Comments
  1. Jacob says:

    Go seahawks!! – I’ve been a fan ever since Pete took over, he was the man at USC.

  2. Alex says:

    First Coach K, now Pete Carroll…learning from the best Trev!

Leave a Reply

